Redefined and Rediscovered: The Gospel.

Hello brothers and sisters.

My name is Karch Frankenfield and Fletcher asked me to write a post for him while he is on a mission trip in Africa.

Be sure to pray for him during this time that God would speak through him rather than him speak his own words. Pray that God’s will would be his will, not allowing anything to come between him and God.

Pray that for myself as well.

At any rate, the Gospel.

Redefined and Rediscovered is the closest way I can come to describing the intent I feel God has placed on my heart for y’all.

I am not defining it differently than it was originally defined, nor am I discovering some gospel that is better than or different from the Gospel as presented in Scripture.

Rather I am attempting to persuade you to come with me in examining what the Gospel actually is. Not the catchphrases that we use to describe it, nor the church jargon that we hardly know what means. But rather journey to the heart of the thing which is an outpouring of the heart of God.

What is the Gospel?

If you are like me then you immediately respond with, “The good news of course!”

All right. What is the good news?

Once again if you are like me, then you say something about “being saved” or “the gift of salvation”. If you are that one kid in sunday school, you might say “Jesus’ blood poured out for sinners”

All of these answers are right…partially. They are missing the big picture by trying to focus in what man gets out of God’s work. They are focusing on what it means for me. Me being saved, me getting the gift of salvation, Jesus’ blood poured out for me. But because these answers focus on what man gets out of the picture they lose sight of God…and they lose their veracity of the Gospel.

Now. If you are like me…then you likely don’t know what veracity is. Its a word that uniquely fits the situation at hand. Veracity means habitual observance of the truth. They lose their regular observance of the Gospel.

Its kinda scary what happens when we focus on what we get out of life…rather than what God wants us to do with life.

We become people who focus on self and what needs to be done for us to feel the way we want or get what we want. We are interested more in our good than the good of others. All this because of a decision to focus on what I get out of the gospel?

Yep. Because the way you treat the Gospel is a watershed for how you treat life. By watershed I mean that it is one point where what you actually believe about that point determines what you actually believe and act about on a large variety of other points.

James talks about this quite a bit. James 2:14-20 NASB.

What use is it, my brethren, if someone says he has faith but he has no works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is without clothing and in need of daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and be filled,” and yet you do not give them what is necessary for their body, what use is that? Even so faith, if it has no works, is dead, being by itself. But someone may well say, “You have faith and I have works; show me your faith without the works, and I will show you my faith by my works.” You believe that God is one. You do well; the demons also believe, and shudder. But are you willing to recognize, you foolish fellow, that faith without works is useless?

What James is saying here is that true faith brings about action. Meaning that if you seriously believed the Gospel you would not be focusing on what you get out of it. You would be focusing on God. Knowledge does not equal belief.

You, just like myself, may need to repent of your disbelief. While we have not yet defined the Gospel, it is clear that if you are not sharing your faith, your actions to not match your claims.

Works do not save you. Faith does not save you. God saves you. He does so through His grace which you accept by faith.

However, works do bear witness to your faith. Sharing Christ does not mean that you are being faithful, but not sharing Christ definitely means that you are not being faithful.

So in this journey towards what the Gospel is…we have come to a bit of impasse. What is belief?

I will leave you a verse to think on and pick this discussion back up tomorrow. Mark 9:24:

Immediately the boy’s father cried out and said, “I do believe; help my unbelief.”

Be dependent. Utterly so.

Karch

Leave a Reply

