What a Twlight star taught me about sin.

Most know I am not a twilight fan. I am also not that great of a fan of the actress Kristen Stewart. I want to make sure that I am not coming off as though I am bashing this young woman in this post. It will be important to read this post the whole way through to realize that I am not picking on Kristen, but rather I am pointing out a flaw amongst humankind.

Kristen has gone on from playing Bella in Twilight to a bit of a creepy Snow White. It came out that she had an affair with the director of this new Snow White film. If you are a fan of this lady then you probably know she is still dating Robert Patterson who played Edward in the Twilight films. The director she developed a romantic relationship with also happened to be married.

Today Kristen and the director sent out public statements about the event. I’ll start with the directors. “I am utterly distraught about the pain I have caused my family. My beautiful wife and heavenly children are all I have in this world. I love them with all my heart. I am praying that we can get through this together.” Notice anything missing in this statement? He pulls out the old faithful “I am praying” routine, but never mentions a phrase that should have really been the first thing he said. He never said “I was wrong”. He feels bad about the pain this incident caused his family, but there is never any real acknowledgment that what he did was wrong. His statement is more of a gray arena. You can read into it what you want. It is a vague confession.

Kristen’s statement does a little more jumping through hoops. “I’m deeply sorry for the hurt and embarrassment I’ve caused to those close to me and everyone this has affected. This momentary indiscretion has jeopardized the most important thing in my life, the person I love and respect the most, Rob. I love him, I love him, I’m so sorry.”

Momentary indiscretion? What does she mean when she says that? A discrete act means it is you making the choice. You are in complete control of your actions and you are knowingly performing an act. Momentary indiscretion is essentially the opposite. Kristen is saying she is sorry for the pain she caused “but”. Why is there a “but” there? Kristen is saying it isn’t really her fault. She is saying it was an accident. She wasn’t really herself. She is saying this is not me. Her friends have come out and said she is a good person who made a bad choice. She is saying I made a mistake, but do not let this be your definition of who I am.

We do this too. We refuse to take real responsibility for our sin. There is always something that escalated us towards our actions. We claim that Satan made us do it. We say that our environment has been stressful and made us somebody we are not. The truth is that we sin. We make the wrong choices. It is not just a mistake. We do not fool anybody when we say our sin was an accident. We certainly do not fool God when we say that.

We have been doing this since the first sin. God went looking for Adam and Eve after they ate the fruit. When God found Adam He asked him what had happened. Adam responded by saying that the woman God gave him had him eat the fruit. Adam put the blame on his wife and even subtly put the blame on God. God made the woman, the woman made me sin, therefore God is the reason why I sinned.

God goes to Eve and Eve gives the old “The devil made me do it” routine. God then proceeds to proclaim punishment… to all of them. He did not just punish Satan. He punished all of them. He punished them because they knew they were disobeying God. This was not a simple accident. They had sinned.

How often do you use the excuse of momentary indiscretion? This is the argument of people in the spotlight. They say they are sorry for those they have hurt, but we should forgive them because this is not who they really are. It was a mistake. They never really own up to their actions. They never take responsibility.

Why is this such a big deal? We need to take responsibility for our own actions. That is how we move past those bad choices. God forgives us, but we are called to confess OUR sins. Not the sins that Satan made us do, not the sins that happened because we were suddenly not ourselves. We are called to confess our sins. We are called to take responsibility for our actions. We are then called to move on.

Something tells me Kristen and this director will be unable to really move on from this event. It will stick with them for as long as it remains a momentary indiscretion. So far the only lesson they have learned is that they need to do a better job of not getting caught. Is that all you have been learning from your sin lately? Or have you realized that it is not just your exposed sin that causes damage? Your private sins destroy the most crucial relationship you can have. They destroy the relationship between you and God.

I need to stop making excuses for my sins and start taking responsibility for them. Anything less is worthless.

Leave a Reply

