Politically correct and cookies

Remember my post a ways back where I used the analogy of the drunk man on a horse? That analogy can really be used for any situation where there are two extremes. Christianity is full of opportunities to fall of a horse only to get back on and fall off the other side. There is one topic in particular that catches my eye on occasion. It is the topic of being politically correct.

Not political correctness is a bit of a sore spot for Christians. This statement gets thrown in our face whenever we speak against some kind of sin. It is not politically correct to tell someone something they are doing is wrong. That is a big no. We take this issue though and decide to jump off the cliff with it. Being politically incorrect is some kind of a badge of honor for Christians in our world today. We will say what we want, when we want, however we want because that is Christian and American.

I would propose that there are some things that are certainly politically incorrect. Racist jokes are rather politically incorrect. Judging someone for their skin color should be a pretty big no for anyone including Christians. Should we avoid it just because it is politically correct?

Before I go any further down this path I should probably explain my thoughts on the root reasons of being politically correct. We should not agree to something simply because culture says we ought to. That is simply stupid. If you say something is wrong because our culture tells you it is wrong then you are more brainwashed then any Bible believing Christian. Sorry, but it’s true. However, there are some things that are politically incorrect that more importantly are things Scripture says we should speak up against. Racism is one.

There are others too. Our behavior towards mentally challenged individuals is something that is considered in the ling of being politically correct. I will admit I am pretty bias on this one. I am married to a woman who majored in special education, and I also have family that measure in some range of the autistic scale. Because of all of this I have no problem speaking up when someone uses the word “retarded”.

It is not the word itself that bothers me, but the use of the word that causes issues. When someone wants to explain that something is dumb or stupid and uses the word retarded then I am going to take offense to that. I would be pretty inhuman not to. Same goes for using the word gay to call something stupid. I may not agree with the gay lifestyle, but I most certainly do not think they are stupid. That’s just common sense.

However, we wave the banner of Christians should not care about being politically correct. I have actually had self-proclaimed Christians tell me it is ok to use the word “retarded” to call something stupid because we should not be politically correct anyway. It goes beyond political correctness folks. Christianity is not an excuse to be a jerk to the world.

This is generally how a conversation with a politically incorrect individual goes with me. I will replace more unsavory words with the word cookie, because cookies make everything better
PI Person: something something so retarded/gay something something.
Me: Hey, that is actually pretty offensive when you stop to think about it (Goes on to explain reasoning for retarded being offensive.
PI person: How dare you tell me how to talk. cookie cookie cookie cookie. You can’t tell me what is right or wrong to say. Cookie cookie cookie cookie. Jesus did not care about being politically correct and offended people all the time.
Me: I hope you realize how idiotic and juvenile you are being.
PI person: How dare you say something that personally offends me! COOKIE COOKIE COOKIE COOKIE COOKIE COOKIE.
Me: I’m sorry. I thought I was supposed to be politically incorrect as a Christian.

I have had this kind of conversation with multiple people under multiple circumstances. It’s being a jerk plain and simple. Why do we use Jesus as an excuse to be jerks. Why must we blame our culture for being too sensitive and thus be obscene to make a point? The fact is that we do not care about being offensive until someone offends us. What if you had a family member with cancer and I made in inappropriate joke over someone dying from cancer? Offended? Then what makes these other issue any different?

I’m tired of being politically correct/incorrect. If it is Christian then just suck it up and live like it. Being politically correct does not always match up with Christianity, but sometimes being politically incorrect is just as wrong for Christians. Learn how to stay on the horse.

4 responses to “Politically correct and cookies

  1. I liked this one very much. I would add, however, that I, quite frankly, can’t think of any “politically incorrect” position that can’t be worded in a loving, inoffensive way (and I don’t mean that phony “I love you but you’re a hellbound heathen whose very existence is offensive to God, bless your heart” love, either). If somebody knows we love them (if we’ve *shown* that, not just told them and demanded they take our word for it), they will be much more likely to hear what we have to say when we confront them about something.

    Which is why I’ve come to the conclusion that we really shouldn’t confront or try to convict (something of which I’m really skeptical is our job anyway) of anything people who we don’t know: we haven’t *earned the right* to talk to them on that level. If someone has to take your word that you love them, you’re doing it wrong, and you shouldn’t be confronting them.

    Not to mention all the nasty stereotypes of Christianity doing the opposite confirms. That’s *really* not something I want to feed into.

    Good post, Fletcher.

    • Glad you liked it. I am curious though, would you also hold to your view if it was someone you knew to be a Christian, but may not know that well? Would you still opt out of confronting them?

      • I think I should have been more clear on this point, my statement was more directed toward our behavior toward those who we think are probably unsaved or those who we just don’t know about.

        That said, your question is well worth answering. I would say that because this hypothetical person and I are both Christians, we have something deeply enough in common to entitle each of us to confront the other. Even in that case, however, it’s still better if that person’s close friends cover such duties.

Leave a Reply

