The real problem

As a Christian I have been called a lot of nasty thing before. It is easy for others to lump me into their own definition of Christianity. It is always easier to fight an imaginary opponent rather than face off against the real thing. I’ve been compared to the KKK, a Republican racist, a brainwashed child incapable of individual thought, an instigator of wars. People take cheap shots at Christianity all the time. We get a bad rep for the crusades, hypocrisy, and treating women like dirt. Murderers who claim to be Christians give us a bad name. The world sees men and women who do despicable things in the name of God.

Let’s be honest though, we are not the only ones who get unfairly generalized. Every Muslim is just a terrorist waiting for an opportunity moment. All Mormons are horrible racists who treat blacks as though they are cursed. Atheists are destined to live a life without any moral code, and thus will rape, murder, and steal whenever given the opportunity. Evolutionists pave the way for mass genocide. Feeling offended yet?

Different people will give you different answers over the root problem. Atheists tell us that religion is the issue. Religions lead to unnecessary wars, and are just an avenue for corrupt men to be leaders over the weak minded. The world will be a lot better off without religion. Various faiths will generally say the problem is that others do not believe in what they believe. If everyone agreed with me then the world would be a much better place.

I hate it when others tell me how corrupt and wrong my faith is because of what self-proclaimed Christians have done in this world. It is a failure of logic in the highest order. Let’s turn the tables for a moment and say that I make public claims to be an atheist. Now you might observe my life and noticed that I pray to a deity. You see that I regularly worship some higher power. Maybe I make personal sacrifices in my life out of respect towards this deity. You would have to say I am not really an atheist even if I continue to tell you I am.

The same is true in any worldview including Christianity. Proclaiming to be a Christian does not automatically lump you as a Christian. So when I see men who are corrupt and evil, but claim to be Christians then it is no real issue for me. I do not simply buy what others tell me. For some reason the world is willing to admit that a politician is not always what they say they are, but we will take a self-proclaimed Christians statement at face value. Why do we do this? Because it is ammunition. People love to find hypocrites in an opposing view to show that the whole worldview is a fraud.

The problem is simple. Evil men will use whatever organization necessary to perform evil acts that help them reach their intended goals. Unfortunately people can be stupid, and sometimes they will blindly follow a religious zealot. Religion isn’t the problem. Sin and evil are the problem.

People want to look at Christianity and label all of us as similar to something like the Westboro cult. Notice I did not call them a church. I don’t label a fraud as something similar to my faith. That group of people is a cult, and has no connection to what I believe. Why should this matter to us? Because we need to stop blaming organizations and acknowledge the real issue. There are some people out there who are evil, and will corrupt whatever is easily accessible to them. I know not every Muslim wants to kill me. I spent two hours witnessing to three Muslims in a place that could be considered hostile towards Christianity at times. I never felt like they wanted to kill me. I care more about evaluating the individual rather than the men who abused his faith.

So for the Christians out there I encourage you to show some decent respect towards others, and not use this flawed argument. Not all atheists are alike. They are not all out to make your life miserable and be hostile towards you. Not all Muslims are out to kill you at a moment’s notice. For anyone else I simply encourage you to give the common courtesy respect back. If someone claims to be a Christian, but does nothing that shows it then don’t assume that is how we all are. I’m sorry if people who claimed my faith hurt you in the past. That was wrong, but you cannot punish someone for the sins of another.

6 responses to “The real problem

  1. Pingback: The real problem « The Critical Eye

  2. @”but you cannot punish someone for the sins of another.”
    ……………………….

    indeed!

    “What do you people mean by quoting this proverb about the land of Israel: “‘The fathers eat sour grapes, and the children’s teeth are set on edge’?

    “As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, you will no longer quote this proverb in Israel.

    For every living soul belongs to me, the father as well as the son–both alike belong to me. The soul who sins is the one who will die.

    – Ezekiel 18:2-4

Leave a Reply

