The hard question about abortion

I don’t talk on the hot button topics all the time. There are some of those big topics that easily flare up disagreements. They are anything in politics, homosexuality, and abortion. Those tend to be the three topics in the Christian community that will inevitably bring about disagreement. Normally I have bigger fish to fry in my thoughts. Why put all my time and effort in the big topics when so many other important things get ignored in the Christian life? Lately my thoughts have been going around abortion more and more though. I must warn readers though that my thought process will be significantly different for most no matter what your stance is on the issue. The reason for this is because this is not a political issue, but once again an issue of the heart of the individual.

I love Lord of the Rings. In that story a character named Treebeard is asked whose side he is on. He says that he is on no one’s side because no one is on his side. I tend to feel this way on lots of issues at times. Abortion can be one of them. Let me make a few things very clear. I am against abortion. I believe life begins at conception. Anyone who tries to tell me different is beyond living in an imaginary world. I will never be capable of understanding how someone can believe a baby is not a baby until they are born. I will never be capable of understanding how killing a child who is only a couple days old is murder, but killing them in a womb is protected under the mothers choice. It will never make sense to me.

Don’t stop reading if you are offended yet. Hang in there I strive not to go overboard on this. When dealing with a sin in culture we need to be asking the right questions. We need to ask where the source is coming from. Unfortunately many Christians believe people get abortions because our country has legalized abortion. The source is in the legalizing of abortion. Is that really the problem? Murder is illegal, but people still murder. Abortions were not always legal, but they still happened. No, legalizing abortion is not the issue.

This leads to a new question. If the legalization of abortion is not the issue than what is? The issue is why people need to justify abortion to begin with? The answer to that is fairly simple. There are women out there who believe abortion is the pest solution to their situation. Why do they believe that? Because a better alternative is not openly presenting itself.

We fight the legal battles. We go on crusades for unborn children. We protest Planned Parenthood. I think it’s good to stand up against this injustice. I do not like Planned Parenthood. I would love to see them stopped from helping with abortions. I think they are full of shadiness and have a government that is only to eager to defend them. I also think we waste too much energy on them. Planned Parenthood is not the problem. It is simply a symptom of the problem. Treat the symptoms, and they will only come back in a different form.

What if the church started striving to give pregnant women better alternatives? What if we spent less energy fighting the symptoms, and used more energy fighting for the heart of the individual. What if we started presenting the church less as a place that condemns women who murder their children, and more as a place that opens its doors for unwed mothers who feel they have nowhere to turn? What if we stared to give these women hope of a brighter future for their child?

After all the bleakness of the world is part of the logic for the mother who chooses to abort her baby. It is not just an issue of convenience. Why let a child come into a world in a harsh situation? Would it not be better if the child were just dead? That is an argument that millions of people are using for abortion. Poverty, drug environments, rape, gangs, etc. These are things that tell us this is not always a good world for a child. Imagine the impact some light could have on that darkness then.

The church needs to broaden their slogan. We say we are pro-life which too many is just translated to anti-abortion. We are much more than thought though. We are pro-family. We are pro-hope. We wish to reach out to those in need and help them get back on their feet. What if that was the image we started portraying more in the abortion debate? What if we started showing that we can be a light in this world that provide in alternative for those mothers. How can we expect any less from these women when they look around, and all they see is darkness and despair with some people making noise and spewing words like murderer to her at her contemplation?

It’s the church that loves the teenage girl who got pregnant. Was her choice to sleep with her boyfriend wrong? Yes, but is driving her away really going to fix the situation? She needs counseling and help now more than ever. She needs direction. If the church those her out on the street then where else is she going to look for help?

Culture has given its answer to the unborn child issue. It has answered by justifying abortion. We are a step behind people. We have been trying to respond by answering the issue of abortion. It is time to respond by answering cultures issues with the need for abortion in the first place.

The legalization of abortion is not the issue. The issue is that people felt the need to justify the action. They see no alternative. It is time for us to be the better alternative. It is time for the average Christian to look in the mirror and ask the hardest question of all with abortion. Is it possible that I am part of the problem? Is it possible that I have spent so much energy fighting the politics of abortion that I have failed to reach my hand out to the potential casualties of it?

11 responses to “The hard question about abortion

  1. Great post. I’ve long believed that the push to outlaw abortion is a way for Christians to feel better about themselves without actually doing anything about the real issue. It’s like watching someone bleed out on the floor, hiding the blood under the rug and claiming to have stanched the person’s wounds.

  2. I was hoping you’d get to the idea that perhaps the church is part of the problem. Especially considering the percentage of those abortions that are had by Christians whose family and church may ostracize them should they go through with the pregnancy. Good post.

    • Thanks for commenting. I’m not sure I could so far as to say the church is part of the problem. That would mean the church as a whole is causing abortion, and that is far from accurate. This concept deals more with the individual. Are some individuals in the church part of the problem? Certainly, but that is very different from saying the church as a group is part of the problem.

      • Churches hire pastors. Pastors teach congregations. Congregations split into individuals. Individuals take what they’ve been taught and act upon it.

        I don’t think Christ is to blame (being misused as He is), but I believe the church definitely has it’s part.

        Then again, I find myself a bit bitter toward the “church,” and so may not be a reliable witness. =)

      • I can see how a bad experience with a church would do that, but there is still a difference between the church and a local church to me. I love the church despite the flaws of the individuals.

        All that said I would say that a group of people who try and push for a girl to get an abortion is certainly no church.

      • The statistics are nationwide that Christian teens are getting abortions as or more often than non-christian counterparts. It’s a national church problem.

        It’s not an outward pushing. They don’t encourage it outwardly. But in principle. For example, when my mom found out I wasn’t a virgin she kicked me out and called me a whore. She didn’t know that I had been raped by my boyfriend, but acted on instinct from the shame it would cause in the church. The attitude of ostracism rather than healing is pressing on girls. I don’t know if you could understand until you fall under it. It subtle and it’s systemic guiding of minds. There’s an enormous amount of shame, and fear. So enormous that girls would rather get an abortion than come out and say they are pregnant out of wedlock.

        I no longer love the church at all. I spent seven years of my life looking for one, and have not found one that didn’t suck the faith from my body with their subliminal hate messages. I remain Christian, but I have no desire to go to church. My faith has never been stronger than when I’m out of the church. Anyway, if you’re really interested in understanding, I’ve written quite a bit about the church on my site.
        God bless.

      • I want to say that I am so sorry for what happened to you. It was wrong, unchristian, and cruel.

        You are right in that I cannot relate to you circumstance. The church I grew up in would not have done to someone what happened to you. My father is a pastor and so am I. Your local church experience has clearly been a bad one. I hope you can understand though that this is not the experience everyone has, and what you experienced is something I would openly call unchristian.

        I hope my view has not caused offense to you on this one. I just know there is a lot of good in the church when individuals gather together and seek God’s will. I have seen it at its best and its worst, but I still think its worth it.

      • No offense. Of course, not. Sadly, the vast majority of my experiences with Christian churches of pretty much all denominations have been bad, but I had to separate that from my faith in God. Eventually, I may make it back when my faith can stand in opposition to that, but not yet.
        Bless you on your journey. Thanks for talking with me.

Leave a Reply

