Live Second journey: A Second from beginning to end.

(Note: Last day to enter into the drawing! Don’t forget to comment on one of the live journey posts saying you want to be considered to win a free copy of this book)

Two things I ask of you, Lord; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, “Who is the Lord?” Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God.- Proverbs 30:7-9

Sometimes we approach God as if he doesn’t care about our personal lives. We ask him for world peace or the universal spread of his fame but forget to ask him for next week’s groceries. We ask him for the right president but not for the electric bill. The danger with this is we start to think that we paid the bills and that we earned the groceries. Our wealth makes us forget our God. Make it a habit instead to ask him for your needs and to praise him when he provides. – Live Second 58

We have reached the end of this little adventure. I hope you all have been blessed with what I have learned. I hope this has sparked some interest for you all to look into this book that has changed me for the better. Today’s truth in this reading has been beyond encouraging for me.

On day two I told you all about a crisis for my wife and I. Her grandmother whom she was close to had passed away. We were hallway across the country from her family, but we knew we needed to go. All we could do was pray for God’s provision. We had no real way to afford to get out there for such a difficult time. We had a five week old and no way to fly out to be with her grieving family. Prayer for God’s provision as all we had. God provided.

A dear friend who had been blessed by God wished to use that blessing for others. He selflessly wished to pay for our tickets to go out and be with my wife’s family. We were overwhelmed, and at truth I was hesitant to accept it. It felt uncomfortable receiving such a great gift from a close friend. I was overcome with emotion over what he did. He grasped what I have been grasping through this journey. I told him to keep the money for himself. He told me it was not his money to begin with. God has ownership of everything we believe we have.

I may not be a successful business man. I may not be wealthy. I make mistakes in my ministry. I make mistakes with my family. I am a flawed individual who at times feels he has little to show for his efforts, but I am rich in Christ. I am rich in the loved ones he has surrounded me with. This still begs the question. Why do I only turn to him for the grand issues? Paying of the bills is his provision as well. Food on the table is meant to be thanked by more than a meager blessing of the food. Safety in travels is not something you wish luck on. Every good thing is from God.

In the end this week fit pretty well with the mold of my blog. After all, I set out to right this blog as a man who desired to be dependent in every area of his life. This includes my finances. I had no way to provide for an emotional need my family had, but I did know I could turn to the one who was my provider. My question as we have ended this journey is a simple one. What blessings in your life have you taken for granted and placed as your own personal success? Even the small things you count as being done based on your own ability show weakness in a surrendered life to God. Live Second is about the giving of the whole person and al that he is. He is second in every aspect of his life. Set aside all that you are for the one who is the way, the truth, and the life.

Leave a Reply

