Where I belong

Lyrics from Switchfoot “Where I belong”

“Feeling like a refugee
Like it don’t belong to me
The colors flash across the sky”

I think we all crave to belong. It is a desire that is written into our DNA. We hunger for a place that fits so perfectly. It is always a place that we can never fully describe. The only words we can use to explain it is, “I will know it when I get there.” I think we find places on this earth that are a close match. Places where we can experience fellowship, love, and charity with family and friends. Places that make us feel safe. A place that gives us purpose. Somewhere where we feel we are a part of something bigger than ourselves.

“This air feels strange to me
Feeling like a tragedy
I take a deep breath and close my eyes
One last time
One last time

Storms on the wasteland
Dark clouds on the plains again
We were born into the fight”

It becomes frustrating when we can never seem to find that place where we truly belong. That place that feels so right that we could never let go of it even if we wanted to. We find mirrors to that place on this earth, but even then realize part of it is still missing. It drives us to hunger for that place. The closer we come the more we yearn to get there.

“Feels like we’re just waiting, waiting
While are hearts are just breaking, breaking
Feels like we’ve been fighting against the tide

I wanna see the earth start shaking
I wanna see a generation
Finally waking up inside”

Sometimes we feel like we want to lose hope. We wonder why we are still in a world where we do not truly belong. We know this desire for something more is there for a reason. We know the glimpses we receive of it are meant to be enjoyed and cherished. How can we live this life knowing it is all meant to be so temporary? It’s like Israel wandering being in Egypt and wandering in the desert. It’s like Moses spending year and years away from his people to live as a humble shepherd. What is pour purpose in the here and now? How long must we cry out as we see the pain and heartache around us?

“Until I die I’ll sing these songs
On the shores of Babylon
Still looking for a home
In a world where I belong

Where the weak are finally strong
Where the righteous right the wrongs
Still looking for a home
In a world where I belong”

It is when we remove ourselves from the situation that we can see the picture a little better. We need to remember this is all bigger than just ourselves. We do have purpose as we wait to arrive. It is to call out to all kindred spirits. A call to all those who realize this whole thing is so temporary. To love our families and friends and unite in a song that can shake this world. Where we cry out in a song of belonging. It is a song that some will hear and dismiss as the ramblings of a fool, but others will hear and have something awaken inside of them. They will hear that song, and realize they need to wander through this world until they reach the place the truly belong.

“This body’s not my own
This world is not my own
But I still can hear the sound
Of my heart beating out
So let’s go boys, sing it loud

And on the final day I die
I want to hold my head up high
I want to tell You that I tried
To live it like a song

And when I reach the other side
I want to look You in the eye
And know that I’ve arrived
In a world where I belong”

There are times in our lives where it will feel like we are doing a lot of wandering. Times where we will wonder where the journey will take us until we reach our final destination. I believe the doubt in the average believer is not over whether or not they will arrive. The doubt comes from what is between here and their destination. What shall we do then? Live it like a song. Dance and sing through it with those loved ones who help you to see a glimpse of that world where you truly belong. One day you will reach the other side. On that day you will just know.

“For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” Philippians 1:21. I hunger for home, but there is work here to do. I thank the Lord my God that as I remain in this world I do not belong he has given me glimpses of my final destination through the love I experience and give to my wife, son, family, and friends. We may be wandering in a world we do not belong, but we certainly do not wander alone.

Leave a Reply

