What’s Your Endgame?

So the Supreme Court made some decision today revolving around same-sex marriage. I’m not going to talk about those changes to Laws, and how it affects us today, because I think there is a bigger element in all of this that needs to be written about. I also see no reason to write about how this Law changes things, because it really shouldn’t If any Law changes how you are doing Christianity, then you were doing Christianity wrong before that law was in place.

Today and over the next few days there will be many Christians taking to twitter, blogs, and facebook to stand up for the beliefs and opinions. They will believe themselves to be boldly proclaiming God’s truth to everyone they know. They will feel the need to offset a loud statement made by our culture today. They will feel the need to defend God and His word. MAny will do all of this with the absence of love.

People know where I stand on these sorts of issues. I’m Biblical on my viewpoints with these sorts of things. Marriage is designed by God to be between a man and a woman. No change in culture will sway me of that, but I also believe I am not an idiot about it. I’ve never written blogs or preached sermons specifically about homosexuality, because I have always personally had bigger fish to fry. I don’t write about the standing today in the Supreme Court on facebook because I have to ask myself what I am trying to solve in taking that sort of action.

The average Christian who will write about this today will simply be preaching to their own team while shoving the opposing side further away. We are supposed to love people. That is part of the Gospel. Speaking with hatred and anger over this sort of things gets us nowhere. Speaking without thinking will get you in trouble. Expecting culture to blindly agree with us is simply foolish.

How will this change how I do things? It simply won’t. I loved homosexuals before today, and I will continue to love them after. I respect them as real people. I care about them, and want them to live the best life they can possibly live. I want them to experience things I experience. I want them to know the full extent of God’s love. I want to them to see that I genuinely care about them whether they agree with me or not.

Do you know the mistake that many of us are going to make on blogs, facebook, and twitter today? We are going to tell hosts of people that they do not belong. They don’t belong in this country, they don’t belong on this earth, they don’t belong in our discussions, they don’t belong in our churches to look for answers, they don’t belong in our lives. We will blindly proclaim truth, and will do nothing to help people to listen to what we have to say in the process. I’m not saying we don’t stand for truth, but what we do and say will largely be received based on how we do and say it.

When you say something about this today I beg you to consider what you are trying to accomplish with your words. When you decide your goal then evaluate how the words you are choosing to say will actually help you reach that goal. What’s our endgame, and how are you planning on getting there?

Leave a Reply

