Enjoying Life

Watching fireworks is a common event for the 4th of July. My family and I were able to see a fireworks display to celebrate another 4th full of the heat of summer and hamburgers. I have many memories of past fireworks. When I was a boy we used to go into D.C. to watch an absolutely spectacular fireworks display on the 4th. It was always quite a site to behold with the intense fireworks, empowering music, and a finale that would make your ears ring for the rest of the night. I’ve always enjoyed watching the fireworks.

This year has been a bit different. I’m a dad now, and like many thing, fatherhood changes your fireworks viewing experience. I found myself spending much less time watching the fireworks, and far more time watching my son watch the fireworks. It was a different and even more enjoyable experience then the past fireworks displays over the years. Seeing the look on his face throughout the display filled me with a sense of happiness. There were moments of fear for him, but for the most part he was thoroughly enraptured by it all. He was enjoying himself, and I was enjoying watching him enjoy himself.

I think God operates very similarly with us. Scripture tells us over and over that God is out heavenly father. He possess many of those qualities, traits, and impulses that any other father would. I can’t help but believe that he enjoys watching us enjoy life. He finds satisfaction in our enjoyment of what He has given and done.

This is not to say there will never be times of fear, strife, crisis, and trials. Those moments in life also serve a purpose, but I think it can be easy for us to forget that God wants us to actually enjoy the life we are living. Enjoying life is honoring to God. It pleases him. What loving child does not want to please his father? The funny thing is that this is one of the easiest ways we can please our heavenly father, but we so rarely do it.

What keeps you from enjoying life? Is it those hardships and trials? Is it bitterness that ahs snuck into your heart? Have you allowed pessimism to sit on a throne in your heart? Have you just grown weary and tired? Have you become apathetic? What is keeping you form enjoying life? To be more direct, what is keeping you from pleasing your heavenly father?

Ezra fireworks

One response to “Enjoying Life

  1. Having read this I believed it was very enlightening. I appreciate you taking the time and energy
    to put this content together. I once again find myself personally spending
    a lot of time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

