What Are You For?

I’ve been absent on this blog for a while. It has been due to a variety of reasons. One is that school has picked back up for me taking away much of my time. Work has been another. Time with family has also been important (My wife and I are now expecting our second child!) There has also been another reason that will briefly be explained later in this post.

My wife and I have been doing a lot of visiting and traveling lately. In the midst of these travels we recently visited the church I grew up in for a very special occasion. There is an older couple in that church that we know very well. They were celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary. 70 years of marriage. That’s almost unheard of today.

We went to the church that morning because the church as a whole was celebrating this milestone. The church wanted to celebrate this special event. The act spoke volumes to me. It was a profound realization I had when I heard what they were doing, and jumped out to me as a stark contrast to how we so often are in this world today. That celebration was a statement by my church. They were for something.

It was more of the same old same old noise about what we need to be standing against in our culture. It was not a sermon about what business or movie we are supposed to be boycotting to show people that we have different morals. It was just a fun celebration that was acknowledging a victory over something that was cared about.

Christians say they are for marriage, but there regularly discussion seems to suggest that they show that by talking about how horrible the culture is due to divorce and premarital liv8ing arrangements. They are so good out pointing out how all of these people are doing it wrong. This is not to say that there is never a time or place for that, but it gets old after a while. They are better known for being against divorce and premarital sex rather than being for marriage, and that’s a problem.

We may not recognize the difference much at first, but over time it begins to get clearer. People who are against something need to keep finding things to be against in order to satisfy that drive. It is how we get arguments surrounding petty theology, worship style, and even the color of the carpet. The one who fights against something is never able to be truly satisfied. Being against is a job for the “world.” Christ said the world would be against him. He didn’t respond by being against the world.

Christ came for a purpose. He wasn’t simply fighting against something. He was fighting for something. There is such a powerful difference in that. Christ was fighting for us. He was fighting for freedom from sin. He was fighting for our salvation. It drove him differently. Christ did not stay on the cross because he was fighting against those who hung them there. He stayed on that cross because he was fighting for them.

Here is the really big thing. When we fight for something we celebrate and point out those victories. That church celebrating 70 years of marriage by that couple was a glimmer of hope and light in the midst of this world so many people want to be against. It went a step forward of just pointing at the world telling it what it was doing wrong, and instead pointed at an example of a better path to follow. A path that is more satisfying and worthy of consideration.

This post may seem unsatisfactory of thoughts on this subject, and that is because it is. Many of the thoughts are still jumbled in my own head, and fighting to break out in a clear and coherent way. That has been the final reason for my absence lately. I have been working on something a ltitle different. It is more than just a blog post. It is my first real writing project. I will be continuing to keep everyone updated, and I will make sure to keep posting normal posts on here regularly, but as I go through this process I hope you all will stop to think about what is being said here, and that you will pray for me as I continue to process through these thoughts to share with anyone willing to read or listen.

Leave a Reply

